Heavy losses for Islip Democrats

Legis. Gonzalez takes sole area win


The Islip Democrats faced a series of defeats on Nov. 7. The Democrats spent the evening of Election Day at the IBEW Local 1049.

Dave Calone lost the Suffolk County executive seat to current Brookhaven Town supervisor and Republican Ed Romaine. Romaine won with over 57 percent of the vote with 158,452 votes to former federal and state prosecutor and democrat Dave Calone’s 119,052 votes.

“His success will be our success, so let’s all work together because, at the end of the day, local government isn’t about left or right. It’s about how we work together to solve the issues,” Calone said in his concession speech about his opponent’s win.

He also took the opportunity to acknowledge and thank his campaign team, his family, and current Suffolk County executive democrat Steve Bellone.

For Legislative District 9, current Legis. Samuel Gonzalez scored a victory for Islip Democrats. He won the race with 3,398 votes, 635 votes more than his opponent, Dr. Teresa Bryant.

Gonzalez’s focus as legislator is to improve services for his district’s youth, seniors, and veterans, to preserve the environment, and to grow the local economy.

Islip native and Democrat candidate for Islip Town supervisor Ken Colón lost to current Republican Islip supervisor Angie Carpenter by 13349 votes.

Town of Islip Council District 3 democrat candidate and New York State former assemblywoman Christine Pellegrino lost the seat to Republican candidate Mike Mclwee by 2414 votes.

Town of Islip Council District 4 democrat candidate and current claims attorney Tom Murray lost the seat to republican candidate John M Lorenzo by 4549 votes.

Town of Islip receiver of taxes democrat candidate and businesswoman Laura Falbo lost to republican candidate Andrew Wittman by 14539 votes.

Town of Islip Town clerk Democrat candidate and licensed social worker Sarah Smith lost to Republican opponent Linda Vavricka by 11945 votes.

Suffolk County Legislative District 8 covers the areas of Bayport, Blue Point, Bohemia, Holbrook, Holtsville, Lake Ronkonkoma, Medford, Oakdale, Sayville, and West Sayville. Democrat candidate and entertainer Heather Gallagher lost to current District 8 legislator and Republican Anthony Piccirillo by 7437 votes.

Suffolk County Legislative District 10 democrat candidate, lifelong Central Islip resident Derek Stein lost to current District 10 Legis. Trish Bergin by 3296.

The full unofficial results of Tuesday’s election can be found on the Suffolk County Board of Elections website.

DISCLAIMER: All vote tallies are not final counts and based off the initially released

unofficial votes. Absentee ballots are still to be counted and announced.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here