Five wins this season-  Flying Dutchmen earn 19th Suffolk County Total Points Championship
It’s been a great season for the West Sayville Fire Department Drill Team. Read about the Flying Dutchmen’s most recent win.

Photo by Kim Versheck

Five wins this season- Flying Dutchmen earn 19th Suffolk County Total Points Championship




WEST SAYVILLE—On Labor Day weekend, the Flying Dutchmen drill team of the West Sayville Fire Department cruised to their fifth tournament victory of the 2018 firematic competition season and added yet another title to their accomplishments this season:  Suffolk County Total Points Champions.  

Competing against 17 other volunteer fire departments from Nassau and Suffolk counties at the Hagerman Fire Department’s training facility on Sept. 1, the Flying Dutchmen placed in five of the eight events and competed to earn a total of 19 points for their day’s efforts, one and a half  points ahead of the North Lindenhurst Piston Knockers, who placed second.  The Hagerman Gamblers ended in third place overall with 14.5 points, and the Bay Shore Redskins and Port Washington Road Runners tied for fourth place honors with 12 points.

Along with the prestige of earning the 2018 Suffolk County Total Points title, it was the team’s 19th since the season points were first tallied in 1974. The Flying Dutchmen rose to the top in two of the eight individual contest total points for the year in C Ladder and Buckets.  The victory marks the 184th victory in the team’s history. 

The West Sayville team earned its points with a first-place finish in C Hose (12.60 seconds), and a trio of second-place efforts in the Three Man Ladder (6.34 seconds), B Hose (8.20 seconds) Buckets (21:00 seconds) and a fourth-place in C Ladder (9.59 seconds). 

The 2018 Labor Day Drill and Suffolk County Total Points Champions are coached by Frank R. Miller Sr., Robert Marra, and G. Scott Schrader; led by Capt. Michael Marra and Lieutenants Frank R. Miller Jr. and Daniel Tenney; and composed of Dave Banks,                    Kevin Candido, Louis Christensen, Diana Fuller, Patrick Garrett, Anthony Gugliuzzo, Kristy Hothan, William Hothan,   Ryan Huguenin, Casey Johnson,John Koshar, Robert Noonan, Richard Quenzer, Joseph Quenzer, Douglas Quenzer, Gary A. Schaum, Edward Tenney Jr. and Ryan Tenney.