Drill to honor 9-11 heroes
The 2018 Joe Hunter Memorial Tournament champions

Courtesy photo

Drill to honor 9-11 heroes

Story By: ---



WEST SAYVILLE—On Saturday, June 30, Hempstead and South Hempstead fire departments hosed the 16th annual Joe Hunter Motorized Drill at the Hempstead F.D. Bryan Fahey Training Facility on Weir Street in the Village of Hempstead to raise funds for the Joe Hunter Memorial Foundation.  The annual charity drill is held in memory of South Hempstead and F.D.N.Y. firefighter Joseph G. Hunter, who made the supreme sacrifice on Sept. 11, 2001 in the performance of his duties during the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center.

The day’s events showcased the talents of the 10 best firematic drill teams from throughout New York State.  The West Sayville Flying Dutchmen edged out their nine competitors to earn top honors in the event with 28 points.  The North Lindenhurst Piston Knockers placed second overall with 21 points, while third, fourth, fifth place was a three-way tie between Central Islip Hoboes, Copiague Yellowbirds and the Point Pleasant Pea Pickers with 12 points.

The victory marks the fifth time West Sayville has won the Joe Hunter drill since its inception in 2003.  The win also raises the total of overall drills the Flying Dutchmen have won to 182 victories since they began competing in 1892. 

The Flying Dutchmen compiled their points by placing first in Motor Hook and Ladder Class B (5.09 seconds), first in Motor Hook and Ladder Class C (8.95 seconds), second in Motor Hose Class C (12.49 seconds), second in Efficiency (9.15 seconds), first in Motor Pump (6.53 seconds) and first in Buckets (21.65 seconds). 

The 2018 Joe Hunter Memorial Tournament champions are coached by Frank R. Miller Sr., Robert Marra and G. Scott Schrader; led by Capt. Michael Marra and Lieutenants Frank R. Miller Jr. and Daniel Tenney; and composed of Dave Banks, Kevin Candido, Louis Christensen, Diana Fuller, Patrick Garrett, Anthony Gugliuzzo, Kristy Hothan, William Hothan, Ryan Huguenin, Casey Johnson, John Koshar, Robert Noonan, Richard Quenzer, Joseph Quenzer, Douglas Quenzer, Gary A. Schaum, Edward Tenney Jr. and Ryan Tenney.