Their 13th win
The winning drill team in action during the Efficiency contest.

Photo by John Ippolito Jr.

Their 13th win



WEST SAYVILLE—The West Sayville Fire Department Flying Dutchmen Drill Team captured its fifth tournament victory of the season. Competing against a field of 12 contenders on July 15 in the Riverhead Fire Department’s 31st annual Invitational Drill, the Flying Dutchmen compiled 24 points, in a come-from-behind victory, to outpace the competition in the eight-contest event.

The Flying Dutchmen took an early lead in the drill with first place runs in the Three Man Ladder (6.36 seconds), and Motor Hook and Ladder Class B (5.45) events. Over the next four contests, West Sayville was only able to garner third place finishes in Motor Hose Class C (13.60 seconds) and Efficiency (9.45 seconds). With only two contests remaining, the Dutchmen had compiled 16 points and trailed both the North Lindenhurst Piston Knockers and the Central Islip Hoboes by one point.

As West Sayville approached the starting line in the Motor Pump event, the Piston Knockers were sitting in first place in the contest with a time of 6.05 seconds, while Central Islip’s effort found them out of contention. Undaunted, the Dutchmen were able to complete the contest with a time of 6.09 seconds, good enough for second place and earning them four more points.

Going into the Bucket Brigade contest, the last of the day, West Sayville trailed North Lindenhurst by two points. The Piston Knockers’ time of 25.51 put them out of contention for points, while the Dutchmen posted a second place time of 22.12 seconds to secure the come-from-behind victory. 

The top-five finishers overall on the day were the West Sayville Flying Dutchmen in first with 24 points, the Central Islip Hoboes and North Lindenhurst Piston Knockers tied for second with 22 points, the Farmingville Bandits in fourth with 14 points, and the Bay Shore Redskins in fifth with 11 points.

The victory marks the 13th time West Sayville has won the Riverhead Invitational Drill since its inception in 1988, and is the 178th win in team history.  

The Flying Dutchmen are coached by Frank R. Miller Sr., G. Scott Schrader and Robert Marra; led by Captain Michael Marra and Lieutenants Frank R. Miller Jr.  and Daniel Tenney; and comprised of David Banks, Kevin Candido, Louis Christensen, Diana Fuller, Patrick Garrett, Kristy Hothan, William Hothan, Ryan Huguenin, Casey Johnson, Robert Noonan, Richard Quenzer, Joseph Quenzer, Douglas Quenzer, Gary A. Schaum and Ryan Tenney.